Lavender Spring

I met you in the spring

When the blossoms opened

And a lavender mist filled the air

Newly warm

 

The season was a dream

A melting dream

Bright and quick to fade

 

The petals fell and hid your face

The summer rain fell, too

It washed you away, downstream

 

I wait by the river

Here I stand, beneath the willow

Drowning in whispers and drenched

Drenched in the velveteen heat

 

I remember you

When you held my hand in the breeze

But I’m here now, without you

And I miss the smell of then

 

So I stand in the shade

And I hold the perfume

Of our lavender spring

In my mind

 

**Music Pairing: Rêverie, Debussy

Leave a Reply

